Karlheinz Stockhausen

CDs    books    listen    videos    DE    FR

Karlheinz Stockhausen: Zodiac (and improvisations).
Wergo 67362. Dominik Susteck, organ.

First CD recording of Karlheinz Stockhausen’s “Tierkreis” (“Zodiac”) in the version for organ released by WERGO: Originally composed for music boxes, the work has been arranged for organ and recorded by the young organist Dominik Susteck at St. Peter in Cologne.
The thirty-three-year-old, who has been organist at St. Peter for four years, realized this project not only at an unusual venue but also on an unusual instrument. Since the 1980s, this Catholic chappel combines the church with contemporary art: The “St. Peter’s Art Station” has become not only a much sought-after venue for exhibitions of contemporary art but also a special venue for new music due to numerous concerts and services with 20th– and 21st-century music.

In addition, the “St. Peter’s Art Station” is provided with an instrument built by Willy Peter which was designed for contemporary music: The four-manual great organ and the three-manual choir organ currently have 104 stops, including such unusual sound additions as siren, saxophone, and percussion orchestra with cymbals, drums, or xylophone.
The organ, inaugurated in 2004, is worldwide unique because of its design and structure. Dominik Susteck describes his interpretation of Stockhausen’s work as “frozen musical movement. The instrument no longer sounds like an organ but proves to be a colourful, agile and dynamic being”.

CDs    Bücher    Hören    Videos    EN    FR

Karlheinz Stockhausen: Tierkreis (und Improvisationen).
Wergo 67362. Dominik Susteck, Orgel

CD-Ersteinspielung von Karlheinz Stockhausens „Tierkreis“ in der Fassung für Orgel bei WERGO: Das ursprünglich für Spieluhren komponierte Werk hat der junge Organist Dominik Susteck arrangiert und an der Orgel der Kunst-Station Sankt Peter in Köln eingespielt.

Dabei hat der 33-Jährige, seit vier Jahren Organist in Sankt Peter, dieses Projekt nicht nur an einem ungewöhnlichen Ort, sondern auch auf einem ungewöhnlichen Instrument realisiert. Seit den 1980er Jahren verbindet das katholische Gotteshaus Kirche mit zeitgenössischer Kunst: Die Kunst-Station Sankt Peter hat sich nicht nur als eine gefragte Adresse für Ausstellungen von Gegenwartskunst etabliert, sondern ist durch zahlreiche Konzerte und Gottesdienste mit Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts zu einer ausgewiesenen Spielstätte neuer Musik avanciert.

Zudem verfügt die Kunst-Station über ein von Willy Peter gebautes Instrument, welches auf zeitgenössische Musik ausgerichtet ist: Die viermanualige Hauptorgel und die dreimanualige Chororgel bieten derzeit 104 Register, darunter solch ungewöhnliche klangliche Erweiterungen wie Sirene, Saxofon und Schlagzeugorchester mit Becken, Trommeln oder Xylofon.

Die 2004 eingeweihte Orgel ist in Design und Struktur in ihrer Art weltweit einzigartig. Seine Interpretation des Stockhausen-Werks auf diesem Instrument beschreibt Dominik Sustecks als „gefrorene, musikalische Bewegung. Das Instrument klingt nicht mehr nach Orgel, sondern zeigt sich als farbiges, wendiges und dynamisches Wesen.“