Luis Antunes Pena

CDs    books    listen    videos    DE    FR

Single works on CD:

Luis Antunes Pena: Terrains Vagues. Arts 81192. included: “Eyjafjallajokull” for organ, Dominik Susteck. Wergo.

For the Portugal-born composer Luís Antunes Pena, exploring the use of computers and various forms of instrumental and electronic resynthesis is at the centre of his work as a composer. Although the “consciousness of uncertainty” is a key concept in his aesthetic. Here uncertainty is a factor which shakes the “certainties” of the process of composition and interpretation that are manifested in the supposedly clear notation of the score.

In the composition “Im Rauschen Rot” a “quasi regular pulse” is continually displaced and disturbed by intoxicated sounds. The dynamic of the music thus derives from the constant infiltration of a supposed regularity.

Noise-like sounds is also generated in the compostion “Música para 30 Metais”, which requires a varied set of 30 cymbals with overlapping resonance spectra.

For “Eyjafjallajokull” Pena works primarily with the untypical sounds of the organ of Kunst-Station Sankt Peter in Cologne and focuses on the mechanical and percussive potentials of this instrument.

For the electronic composition “Vermalung I – Western Music” Pena uses as a basis the first few minutes of the soundtrack of Sergio Leone’s film “Once upon a Time in the West”, analysed them, filtered out the rhythmic information and creates a new work on this basis.

The cello solo “Winterlich ruhende Erde”, with its title referring to a quotation from Thomas Mann’s novel “Doktor Faustus”, unchains, through modulations of silence, a cosmic dance that flows back into silence.

CDs    Bücher    Hören    Videos    EN    FR

Einzelne Werke auf Portrait-CDs:

Luis Antunes Pena: Terrains Vagues. Arts 81192. Enthält: „Eyjafjallajokull“ für Orgel, Dominik Susteck. (über Wergo bestellbar)

Für den in Portugal geborenen Komponisten Luís Antunes Pena steht die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Computer und diversen Formen der instrumentalen und elektronischen Resynthese im Mittelpunkt seiner Kompositionsarbeit. Dabei ist das „Bewusstsein der Ungewissheit“ zentrales Denkmodell seiner Ästhetik. Ungewissheit bezeichnet hier ein Moment, das die „Sicherheiten“ des kompositorischen bzw. interpreta­torischen Prozesses, manifestiert in der vermeintlich eindeutigen Notation der Partitur, ins Wanken bringt.

In der Komposition „Im Rauschen Rot“ wird ein „quasi regelmäßiger Puls“ durch Rauschklänge immer wieder verschoben und gestört. Die Dynamik der Musik ent­steht somit durch die permanente Unterwanderung einer vorgegebenen Regelmäßigkeit.

Rauschen entsteht auch bei der Komposition „Música para 30 Metais“, die ein Instrumen­tarium von 30 unterschiedlichen Becken vorsieht, deren Resonanzspektren sich überlagern.

Für „Eyjafjallajokull“ arbeitet Pena vor allem mit den untypischen Klanglichkeiten der Orgel der Kunst-Station Sankt Peter in Köln und stellt die mechanichen und perkussiven Poten­ziale dieses Instruments in den Vordergrund.

Für die elektronische Komposition „Vermalung I – Western Music“ verwendet Pena als Grundlage die ersten Minuten des Soundtracks von Sergio Leones Film „Once upon a Time in the West“, analysiert diese, filtert die rhythmischen Informationen heraus und lässt auf dieser Basis ein neues Werk entstehen.

Das Cellosolo „Winterlich ruhende Erde“, dessen Titel ein Zitat aus Thomas Manns Roman „Doktor Faustus“ aufgreift, entfesselt über Modulationen der Stille einen kosmischen Tanz, der zurückmündet in Stille.